Poland, officially known as the Republic of Poland, is a country located in Central Europe. It shares borders with Germany to the west, the Czech Republic and Slovakia to the south, Ukraine and Belarus to the east, and Lithuania and Russia (Kaliningrad Oblast) to the northeast. To the north, Poland has a coastline along the Baltic Sea.